On August 21, 1959, President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed a proclamation admitting Hawaii into the Union as the 50th state.

One of the smallest states, Hawaii was established as a U.S. protectorate in 1894 following a U.S. military-backed coup, which deposed Queen Liliuokalani, the last reigning monarch of Hawaii.

The president also issued an order for an American flag featuring 50 stars arranged in staggered rows.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.